riderhaser.blogg.se

Devonthink pro or office
Devonthink pro or office







devonthink pro or office devonthink pro or office

In this case, the script is quite simple: 1 Like the first example above, we use Hazel to execute an AppleScript when its criteria are met.

devonthink pro or office

In particular, I want the images to go to the images database in DEVONthink. The second task is to get the images into DEVONthink. It works like this: any image that gets downloaded onto the Desktop or to Downloads, gets slurped up to a Desktop folder called “images”. The first is simple and I’ll describe only cursorily. But having a DEVONthink database for the images, insures that I have a centralized collection point so that I don’t have to look all over my file system for images.įor this task, I have a pair of Hazel rules that work in tandem. When need for a particular project, I can move images to the proper database. In fact, I squirrel away so many images that I keep a separate database for them. I collect a lot of images for projects that I work on. With that criterion, Hazel will watch all of the folders beneath Files.noindex and trigger the embedded AppleScript on demand. We do this by setting the rule criterion of Kind is Folder. The trick here is to make sure that Hazel traverses the directory hierarchy inside Files.noindex. The path that you want is ~/Library/Application Support/DEVONthink Pro 2/Inbox.dtBase2/Files.noindex Once you’ve drilled down to the correct directory for Hazel to watch, create the as shown in the figure. The trick is to find the right folder to watch. To have the script run, we have to create a Hazel rule to make it happen. The script iterates over all of the records in the Inbox, skipping items that shouldn’t be copied (Tags and Trash) then moves them to the inbox in my database called “Collection inbox”. Set cib to get record at "/Inbox" in collectionDb Set collectionDb to database "Collection inbox" If the name of inboxItem is "Trash" then exit repeat If the name of inboxItem is "Tags" then exit repeat Set inboxItems to every record of the inbox move global inbox items to collection inbox Hazel can help us by watching the Inbox and running an AppleScript that moves items from the Inbox to a database of my choice. That way, I can keep sorting items collected on my desktop computer at home while I’m on the road with my laptop. Using Hazel to clear the DEVONthink global inbox.īecause the global inbox in DEVONthink doesn’t synchronize across machines, I keep a separate database for my collection point.

devonthink pro or office

I’ll describe two cases where I’m using them together. Since DEVONthink is the centerpiece of my organizational tools on the Mac, I wondered if Hazel and DEVONthink might be able to work together in a productive way. Actions can include tagging files, moving them to other folders, running AppleScripts, deleting them, etc. It’s an engine that applies per-folder rules to take actions on files and folders. Hazel’s tagline is “automated organization for your Mac.” Hazel works as an agent to keep folders organized on the Mac. I’ve written previously about it and how I use it to find things and how I synchronize databases across machines. My main organizational tool DEVONthink Pro Office, a tool I’ve used for many years.









Devonthink pro or office